All consultations are free. Call us at 941-366-8888.

Golf carts are a popular mode of transportation throughout Florida. They are commonly seen in communities throughout the state as they provide a quick and easy way to navigate from one place to another. But golf carts are vulnerable when they are traveling near larger vehicles. A golf cart accident can leave the driver and passengers with serious injuries. Some laws in the state were updated recently in efforts to make transportation by golf cart safer.  

What are the new laws? 

Under Florida House Bill 949, golf cart drivers must be 18 years of age or older to operate a golf cart on certain roads without a learner’s driver’s license or valid driver’s license. In some places, anyone 18 years or older must possess a valid form of identification to operate a golf cart. These regulations apply to public roads and streets where golf carts are permitted.  

The bill also gives a water control district the authority to designate certain roads for golf cart use only. These designations must be approved by the county. Anyone who violates these new laws may be subject to a noncriminal traffic infraction which is not considered a moving violation. These new laws are intended to provide stricter guidelines for golf cart drivers so that accidents may be prevented.  

Golf cart accident injuries can still occur 

Even when golf cart drivers follow the laws, they are still subject to being involved in an accident due to the negligence of another driver. When a golf cart collides with a larger vehicle, the injuries are often serious. Expenses associated with such an accident may include loss of work, physical therapy, and medical bills. Floridians who have been injured in a golf cart accident due to negligence can speak with a personal injury attorney to better understand their rights in seeking compensation.